Municipality de Sainte-Geneviève-de-Berthier
The parish of Sainte-Geneviève is named after the youngest daughter of the seigneur Alexandre Berthier, who was the second owner of the seigneury (November 3, 1673). But before him, the Algonquins, who hid on the land to ambush the French, called it “Antaïa.”
The parish of Sainte-Geneviève-de-Berthier stands on the site of the Dorvilliers estate and part of the Berthier seigneury, which were both conceded on October 29, 1672. James Cuthbert purchased the Berthier seigneury on March 7, 1765 and his family kept it until the abolition of the seigneurial system in 1854.
The parish was officially established on July 1, 1855. Today it is rapidly growing. The Quebec government has been operating a large tree nursery here since 1908. The municipality is proud of its rich heritage. The Sainte-Geneviève church, the Grandchamp covered bridge and the beautiful residences along the Grande-Côte and the Bayonne River attract visitors, as do a nature interpretation trail and a golf club.